PR&P week 4: little red

oh wow, i am so grateful that i’m still alive and kickin’ in project run and play!  you guys are really the best.  i’m having a fun time thinking as creatively as possible and gaining experience in actually designing out of my own brain rather than following patterns.  this is all so new to me, and it’s changing how i will sew from here on out.  it was really uncomfortable and hard at first, but is becoming normal now and that’s pretty cool.  thank you for giving me the opportunity to continue on!

this week’s challenge is “Outerwear” and i was glad for my outerwear experience lately (here and here) but also stumped on what to make!  i sketched so many different designs for this one – it gave me the most trouble because i had lots of ideas, but none of them really sang to me.  i sketched capes, trench coats, jackets, but everything felt like something i’d seen before.  i tentatively decided on a simple raincoat that i’d make in a cool laminated cotton, and headed to bolt on my lunch break with a friend to look for fabric.  what i found actually surprised me – a bright red canvas that was actually very soft, and i had a lightning bolt inspiration – what about a red riding hood COAT?  hmmmm, i’ve never seen that before!  my friend suggested an oversized “guillermo del toro hood,” whatever that means, and i agreed that a giant pointy hood would be a definite must (thanks buddy!).

i looked for mushroom or some other woodsy japanese import fabric for lining but none was to be found, so i grabbed a great amy butler lark print instead.  on my drive back to work, i had a brainstorm – i’ll print my own fabric on linen!  back to bolt for this lovely natural cotton-linen blend, and then i started printing in a three-phase stamp process.  perfect.

the ticking stripe binding is what i had picked to join in this sewalong which i never got around to, but it got poached for this because i had another brainstorm to add 1/4″ flat piping around the whole coat and it was the perfect fabric!  it was a fun, easy way to add a whole lot of style and break up all that red.  i also added a little “e” label to the back – mine is machine-stitched, but i would have loved to embroider it like this beauty.

the coat pattern is actually based on the oliver + s sunday brunch jacket, which i altered heavily (those are the rules!).  i took the top bodice pieces and extended them out at a diagonal from the armpits to create the swing coat shape.  i shortened the sleeves and flared them out a bit, too.  those are the only pattern pieces i used!  i drew the hood pattern freehand and the canvas is so sturdy, it didn’t even need interfacing.  the sunday brunch pattern isn’t lined, but i lined mine except for the facings under the buttonholes, where i used the canvas for stability.  i piped the whole coat, sleeves, and pockets with the flat piping, and hand-stitched in the sleeve lining and opening that i used to turn the coat closed.  the only visible topstitching is on the pockets, so it has a very clean and finished look.

the dress that i made to go underneath is the leila and bed sweet little dress in a 3T, which i lengthened and slanted out at the side seams to create fullness.  i made it in the amy butler lark print that i’d originally pegged for the coat lining.

the apron is a simple muslin rectangle, gathered and sewn to a waistband that ties.  it has a little toadstool patch on it which i don’t think you can really see in my PR&P post, but it makes me happy and that’s what matters (secret: all toadstools remind me of super mario bros!!).

this coat is the first garment that i’ve sewn for project run & play that really evolved as i made it – the prior three looks were fully formed in my head before i even started sewing.  the piping was a later addition.  because of that, my sketch is super boring this week!

Em really does love this coat, though, and i’m so happy with it too!  it’s already getting a lot of use, which is fantastic!

alright – once again, it’s time to vote!  won’t you please skip on over to project run and play to vote HERE?  voting closes on sunday evening.  i thank you, the ducks thank you, and my little red riding hood girl thanks you!  🙂

**Voting is now closed**

45 thoughts on “PR&P week 4: little red

  1. cate says:

    WOW! I adore this coat with all its amazing details! and I really enjoyed reading about it’s creative evolution. Congratulations on such a beautiful creation.

    • kristin says:

      i drew a mushroom onto sticky-back foam, then cut out the top and bottom into two separate stamps. i layered more sticky back foam to build up the stamp a little, and then added a layer of cardboard on top of that. i wanted stamps that were substantial enough so they wouldn’t bleed. i brushed fabric paint onto the stamp, stamped it on the linen, and repeated. first i did the stems, then the caps, then i stamped on the white dots with the back of a pencil eraser! i might do a quick little post about how i did the piping and the stamps a bit later…i took a few photos as i went. thanks, svenna!

  2. Rachel says:

    I want to make this for my daughter ! a coat is so much more practical than a cape… it’s very well constructed & I’m impressed that you printed your own fabric !
    you got my vote 🙂

  3. anna says:

    it’s totally perfect and that so cool all the things you did to make it so unique, wow!! I’m loving the mushroom lining and the piping. You must stay up all night sewing these!

  4. danielle says:

    So Darling as usual! All those little details are AMAZING. The lining, the tiny striped piping, the basket buttons. So so great. And your sewing is impeccable as usual too!

  5. Rachel says:

    Oh, that is just so magical and precious! I love it! The little details are so sweet–I love the fabric on the inside, and the little mushroom. Great work! You should be so proud of it!

  6. kim says:

    I love this coat! Everything about it is perfect: the hood, the piping, the pockets, the toadstools. Glad you mentioned Super Mario Bros. because that’s totally what I was thinking. LOVE it!

  7. Sopo says:

    Question: could you please elaborate more on your gorgeous three-phase stamping process? Love the final result! Beautiful job on the whole look!

  8. deborah k. says:

    love it, love it, love it — can’t wait to vote. when I see your little one, her personality just pops off the page — even without seeing the competition, I can’t imagine voting for anybody else. You work? you said during your lunch hour — how is it possible to get so much done with two little ones?

    • kristin says:

      Thanks, Deborah!! Yes, my little gal has TONS of personality. She’s a fun little person to have around. I work 4 days a week. My kids are good nappers and I make the most of that time, and I usually stay up way too late at night – I just love to sew and it’s really important to me to do what I love, so I squeeze it in! 😉

  9. Erin says:

    my fave pr&p project yet! this is so beautiful… you must not be sleeping because this is some SERIOUS work you’re putting in each week! off to vote!

  10. Amy says:

    This is absolutely exquisite! The whole design is so delightful. I love every aspect of it- from the red, to the hood, to the fabric for the piping, to the darling hand-stamped mushroom lining! Your bagging is impeccable… and your photos are good too! I think one of the most important things about doing coats is getting the lining inserted nice and neatly… and you took the most daring photo wide open for everyone to see… and it is really quite impressive crafts-womanship. I would buy this coat for my daughter… if I could afford it! It’s been delightful to see your work every week- and I think you’ve only gotten better! Congratulations on a job well done!

    • kristin says:

      oh thank you so much, amy! sometimes i surprise myself with how things come together, and this is one of those times. 🙂 i’m really happy with it. i really appreciate your comment.

  11. carolyn says:

    I would never have guessed that it was a heavily altered version of that Oliver and S pattern – it looks so different! And gorgeous, of course! I love the flat piping (yes, piping is awesome!) and the pointy hood. Seriously cute!

  12. Stef says:

    LOVE this! I really like the little gnome hood and I totally want to stamp little toadstools onto a whole lotta things! Awesome idea. Another excellent week!

  13. Jamsby says:

    This is so great – I’ve become a big fan of yours through this series. The stamped fabric is amazing! I love how that opens up a world of possibilities!

leave a comment > > >