announcing…vintage may!

i’m so excited to finally spill the beans on something that has been in the works for a while now – a brand new series that i’m co-hosting with jess of craftiness is not optional! it’s called Vintage May, it’ll run for two weeks starting may 14, and it’s going to be a blast.

we started chatting during week 1 of my season of project run & play when i remixed her junebug dress into the sweet tartan dress. after hitting it off via email and talking about blog stuff, jess said she had the idea to host a series, but didn’t know what it should be about. i helped her brainstorm, and then she totally surprised me by asking me to co-host! i made sure she wasn’t joking, then quickly agreed.

i’ve been a big fan of CINO for a really long time. jess is generous with her tutorials, her daughters are adorable, and she writes in a funny, friendly way. she’s one of those gals you wish lived nearby so you could just hang out and your kids could play together (her Sadie and my Em are just a few months apart in age, and her Charlotte and my O are pretty close too). i even love the name of her blog – if you’re a crafty/creative person, it really isn’t optional – you MUST create and you make the time to do it!

IMG_3421

we’re both enamored with vintage style, especially for kids (but for ladies too), and find ourselves drawing inspiration from the past. whether it’s using thrifted/vintage materials, retro-inspired patterns with modern fabrics, or vintage patterns themselves, the results are interesting and fun.

Untitled-3

jess and i will have a little pre-show the week before the series starts to share some of our projects and ideas, and then the real fun begins! we have each rounded up ten fantastic guest bloggers that we’re thrilled to have on board for two weeks of vintage/retro inspired projects and tutorials. we’re so thrilled, in fact, that we can’t keep them a secret! these are the guests i’ll be hosting here at skirt as top. some are blogging celebs, some are hidden gems, all are super talented. here they are!

if you’ve never checked out these ladies’ blogs, do yourself a favor and click through. and jess will be hosting ten lovely guests of her own, so be sure to go check them out!

bedsheet skirt

because this series is all about inspiration and sharing the love of vintage/retro, we’d love to see YOUR projects, too! if you’ve ever sewn an item of clothing from a vintage pattern, vintage bed sheet, a modern pattern that looks vintage, modern fabric that looks vintage, anything along those lines, please add it to the Vintage May flickr group! i’ve added some of my projects, jess has added some of hers, and a few of our guests have added some too, so there’s already plenty of fun stuff in there to browse. we’ll round up a few of our favorites from the flickr group somewhere along the way, so get ’em in there! we’d just love to see what you’ve made.

lemon popover sundress

are you excited? i sure am! hop on over to CINO to check out jess’s awesome guests here, join the flickr group, and get ready to celebrate vintage lovelies!

17 thoughts on “announcing…vintage may!

  1. Ashley says:

    I love vintage and am absolutely ECSTATIC that y’all are doing this! I can’t wait to see everyone’s creations!!!

  2. Rachel says:

    well, to say that I’m thrilled would be an understatement.
    really looking forward to this & seeing all the vintage inspiration !
    thanks for introducing me to some bloggers I’ve never met, I just checked out a few blogs I never knew & they are awesome !!

  3. Erin says:

    I am so excited for this. I have a couple of vintage sheets I have been meaning to sew with and this is just the kick I needed.

  4. hungie gungie says:

    That is so funny, I just changed our blog header to a vintage sheet that I am getting ready to repurpose! I can’t wait to sew along, and contribute to this fun series!
    ~Caroline

  5. Lucinda says:

    How exciting! Two of my favorite blogs hosting with many amazing guests throughout . . . I’m excited already! What a great idea for a theme – thanks so much for hosting this!

leave a comment > > >