PR&P week 1: sweet tartan junebug remix

here we go – the new season of project run and play is underway! i’ve been so nervous not having any idea what the other designers’ looks are (that’s the project runway advantage – they can see what others are making and have an idea of where they stand…well that and they have tim gunn to guide them, of course!). but i think i’ve been true to my aesthetic, stretched a bit, and i’m really excited about my dress!

here’s a little more about my “sweet tartan” junebug remix…

i’ve been wanting to try the junebug pattern for a while, so i was pumped that it was the remix challenge this season.  it’s a different method of thinking to truly remix a pattern rather than just tweaking a detail here or there like i normally do.  i wanted to keep enough of the original dress to remain identifiable, while still making it my own.  i sketched a few ideas, getting progressively farther away from the pattern itself though still not “remixed” enough for my likes. and then, a breakthrough!  switch the cute button bodice detail to the back! after that, and deciding that i wanted to use a plaid print, the rest sort of came. here’s my sketch – got pretty close, eh?

as i sketched, a little lightbulb went off – hadn’t i seen a wrap plaid dress before? didn’t sarah jessica parker wear one once? wasn’t it designed by alexander mcqueen? the answer to all three questions – yes!

source

so that was fun.  apparently i had some deep-seated inspiration from an instyle magazine that i read way back in 2006.  i went with it, obviously a lot more 3-year-old-friendly in cotton plaid and cream batiste. i chose the pink and yellow tartan because i thought Em would like it. she did! i tried to do a photoshoot at powell’s books, and the little squirt wouldn’t stop running and dancing!

except when she was sticking her tongue out at the camera…

normally, rampant dancing is a sign of a successful dress and something i’d be excited about, but in this case it was pretty frustrating, since i’m actually being JUDGED on this project. i took about 100 photos and didn’t get a good one of just her standing still showing the front of the dress! photoshoot number two was taken in Em’s bedroom with her best friend modeling. thankfully they’re the same size and she’s not used to these blog photoshoot dealies, so she was much calmer.  isn’t she sweet?  🙂

okay, guys, if you haven’t yet, head on over to project run and play and vote for your fave! you have until sunday evening.  my sweet tartan dress needs you! 🙂

FINGERS CROSSED!!

**Voting is now closed**

UPDATE:  You can find my tutorial for this dress right here!  Happy sewing!

53 thoughts on “PR&P week 1: sweet tartan junebug remix

  1. L2L says:

    I am sooo glad to see someone put the buttons on the back. No kidding I was thinking if I could sew as good as these girls this dress is screaming put the buttons on the back!!! Now the two layers just makes it perfectly adorable. Wonderful job!!!!

  2. danielle says:

    I LOVE it! I knew I would. Its so so perfect. I love the plaid and flipping the buttons to the back! Clever. Also I love that your daughter is sticking out her tongue. Mine wouldn’t look at the camera but as I took the photos yesterday there was no time for a re-shoot. Good luck! I hope you win. (wink;)

  3. Amy says:

    I just saw your dress at project run and play, that is one of the most amazing dresses. The back is fabulous. And i adore that plaid. Beautiful. I hope that you win! Good luck, i will definetly vote for you.

  4. Bethany says:

    You’re amazing! This is beautiful and suitable for a little girl. I love that you kept the dress wearable. Fingers crossed!

  5. Rachel says:

    This is my first time over here, but I had to pop in from Run & Play to tell you that I think this dress is glorious! I seriously want one for myself! I had such a hard time picking a favorite–there were so many beautiful designs–but yours won out for me. It’s so creative and gorgeous but still very wearable. You did a beautiful job! I love it!

  6. Stef says:

    That’s the problem with so much awesome swirlability – they just won’t hold still for pictures! What a cute story and LOVELY dress. I didn’t know how much I loved plaid until you rocked it here!

  7. Sophie says:

    What a fabulous, fabulous dress! Your typical ‘swirlesque’ and simple design aesthetic really shines through. I reckon if you had a clothes label it would be one of those where one could walk into the middle of a busy store and immediately point at your items.

  8. Maria says:

    All of the dresses were fabulous but I loved your’s the best! Maybe it’s partly my Scottish ancestry too, but your dress was so cleverly done and had a simplicity that was beautiful. Hope you win!

  9. kristin says:

    Thank you all sooooo much for your wonderful comments (and votes)! It really, really means a lot to me. Thanks for stopping by and hello to all of the new visitors! 😀

  10. Elaine says:

    Just voted for you! AND looked through several of your past blog posts… I LOVE looking at your creations! They are all so sweet and beautiful and look so cute and comfy. Your children are quite adorable as well, such happy smiling and twirling little beings 🙂

      • Becky says:

        Ooh I hope you get to do a pattern soon. I would love to make this for my girl for the highland games. She needs to rock her Clan Grant at the end of feb!

  11. Pingback: PR & PR&P | MADE

leave a comment > > >